Beta 2 vmcController - The http server release

Rating:        Based on 8 ratings
Reviewed:  6 reviews
Downloads: 17166
Released: Feb 13, 2009
Updated: Apr 17, 2009 by onhiatus
Dev status: Beta Help Icon

Recommended Download

Application setup.msi
application, 518K, uploaded Feb 13, 2009 - 17166 downloads

Release Notes

This beta builds on beta 1 - main addition is a simple http server - so commands can be issued over the web.

Note that if you want to customize the http output or to play around with the pretty samples you will need to manually copy the file "artists.template" from the install directory (default is usually "c:\program files\vmccontroller" to the ehome directory (usually C:\windows\ehome).

After installing vmcController start the media center and hit http://localhost:40510/help (replace "localhost" with your machine name or ip address if you are not browsing from the media center machine)

Comment / reviews / suggestions always appreciated.

Beta 2: 02/13/2009

Adds:
1. Simple http server - accessed at port +10 (default first port is 40500 + 10 = 40510). Example: http://yourserver:40510/help
2. Some formatting to the help (especially the http view)
3. New commands

New commands:
1. Exit - closes the connection (not useful via http) (note had to expose function CloseClient() to support)
2. mediametadata - returns information on the currently playing media (artist, title, album, etc - varries based on what is playing)
3. playrate-get - shows the current playrate of the currently playing media
4. playstate-get - shows the current playstate of the currently playing media
5. postition-get - shows the current position of the currently playing media


Beta 1: 11/17/2008

Adds:
1. Added support for retrieving / queuing information on audio media
2. Added support for sending strings

New commands:
1. list-artists
2. list-artist-songs
3. list-artist-albums
4. list-albums
5. list-album-songs
6. list-all-custom
7. list-artist-custom
8. list-album-custom
9. list-song-custom
10. play-audio-artist
11. play-audio-album
12. play-audio-song
13. queueaudio-artist
14. queueaudio-album
15. queueaudio-song
16. type

Reviews for this release

     
Awesome program. Works with Windows 8 32 bit
by AgileHumor on Feb 23, 2014 at 9:31 PM
     
I've been using vmccontroller now for a couple of months and really like it. I have integrated it with a Crestron QM-RMC and an iPad running Crestron Mobile Pro G and it works pretty well. For something that hasn't been updated in a long time I'm impressed with how well it continues to work, I've got it running on Windows 7 64-bit HTPC.
by roar on Feb 29, 2012 at 2:36 AM
     
Only just started playing with the program, but at the moment i must say GREAT, it just what i have been looking for to work with Crestron, Over the next few week, I am sure I will have sleepless nights. Thanks So Very Much.
by sjfp on Aug 10, 2011 at 6:32 PM
     
This is excellent has allowed me to develop a dll for LCDSmartie to allow display of Windows Media Center status on an LCD display. The program has worked flawlessly on Windows 7 x64. Many Thanks Mate.
by dperrow on May 29, 2011 at 12:57 PM
     
There does not appear to be a version that works with Windows 7 x86 at all. This plugin has the potential to be great, but the project appears to have been abandoned. There is not much documentation, no support, no builds are being made, it is not clear what to download based on your OS, and questions seem 2b ignored. --- It's not clear what to install for : -Vista x86 -Vista x64 -Win 7 x86
by jitterjames on Jul 2, 2010 at 8:11 PM
     
Excellent! Been looking for just such a solution for some time now.
by jgronner on Apr 17, 2009 at 4:03 AM