V3 Music-cover command

Developer
Nov 18, 2009 at 3:54 PM

I know the version is still in beta, but I when I send the music-cover command it prompt me to download the cover image instead of displaying it in the browser.

Coordinator
Nov 18, 2009 at 5:10 PM

It depends on your browser, but to get it to work in Opera I just appended "%20.jpg" to the URL - so the browser knows it's an image.

Developer
Nov 18, 2009 at 5:55 PM

Would it be possible to have the album cover show up in the browser when you issue the mediametadata command? The reason is I am working a AMX module to pull the current playing info and display it on the AMX touch panel.  It would be awesome if I only had to parse one html page instead of parsing a second to pull the dynamic album cover. I am also a c# programmer but I don’t have the full version on visual studio 2008 to properly open your source project.

Coordinator
Nov 18, 2009 at 9:30 PM
Edited Nov 18, 2009 at 9:32 PM

This is easy if you use a custom format - in fact if all you are looking for is display you can probably do all the work on the server side. If you need to actullay consume the information you could easily get all the informaiton you wnated in whatever format you wanted (XML, etc)

The format command uses regular expressions to parse out information and inserts them into your specified text. It's a little (ok, alot) more complicated that the individual command formatting options, but it's more powerfull in that it can be applied to a series of commands. For example take the nested commands:

http://server/mediametadata/playstate-get

This will run the mediametadata command followed by the playstate-get command and concatenate the output (did you know you could do that?) So, the same command using the format command

http://server/mediametadata/playstate-get/format%20MyPrettyMetaData